The Sixth Borough Market

Despite not being a fan of the name, the Sixth Borough market is a very neat monthly market set up across the street from City Hall in Jersey City that runs from late spring and into the fall. Many local Jersey City shops, along with other shops from other New Jersey towns, set up vending tents to showcase their goods and merchandise. When I first heard about the Sixth Borough market it was on Twitter, so I went to check it out.

This was back on May of 2014 and I enjoyed it a lot. While not quite a flea market, the Sixth Borough market still had great vendors and an amazing gathering of unique people. Months later on a beautifully July Sunday afternoon, I decided to go to the Sixth Borough Market again, this time with my camera.

The entrance and wonderful atmosphere of the Sixth Borough Market in Jersey City  © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The entrance and wonderful atmosphere of the Sixth Borough Market in Jersey City
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

As I first arrived, I noticed a potential shot right away, a medium shot with tent vendors on both sides of the frame (photo above). I wanted to capture the blue sky day along with the onlookers checking out the tents. Every time I’m around a market place I like to capture people be shopping around and being interested of what’s being sold. I also wanted to capture the flower stand to give that presence of summer time.

The toys of yesterday displayed at one of the vending tables © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The toys of yesterday displayed at one of the vending tables
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I walked around the market to see any tents that would catch my eye. One of them was a seller of vintage comics, board games and toys from the 1950s and 1960s. I am a sucker for vintage items especially anything of 1960s pop culture. There were a set of oddly shaped toys of some popular characters such as Donald Duck, Bullwinkle, Little Lulu and Mr. Magoo. Since I just wanted to capture all the figures, I just zoomed in just a little bit and snapped the photo of the toys of yesterday (photo above).

The mustachio, fox shirt wearing man browse and shops at the market. © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The mustachio, fox shirt wearing man browse and shops at the market.
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Sometimes when you’re out in public, especially at a market, you’re run into some interesting, unique characters. As soon as I spotted the man with the curly mustache and the bright orange fox shirt, I had to capture him. I try my very best not to make it obvious that I was taking a photo of a complete stranger.

Some people in public don’t mind getting their photos taken while others will hide their faces or in some cases give you a nasty grin. In this scenario, I pointed the camera away from the mustachio fox shirt wearing man to make it look like I wasn’t taking a photo of him but in reality was just framing him on the right (photo above).

What I received was a much better shot than I expected. In frame, I was able to capture the mustachio shopper along with a female shopper looking around, some background shoppers and that silver headed guy with his hands on his hips. I love this photo because it captures the casualness of Sunday market shopping on a warm, summer day.

The Mack-Cali building overlooks the Sixth Borough Market  © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The Mack-Cali building overlooks the Sixth Borough Market
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

For this last shot, I wanted to capture the white bulky structure building known to me as the Mack-Cali building. Its address, 95 Columbus Ave., Mack-Cali is the one skyscraper I familiarize myself with growing up in Jersey City since it was right across the street in which I lived on 23 Wayne Street.

In this shot, I wanted to capture the Mack-Cali building in the backdrop with the rest of the market (photo above). I also wanted the shot since the whiteness of the tents, the white clouds and the whiteness of City Hall on the left side of the frame.

The best thing to happen to me in this market was meeting a woman by the name of Jenny Ramirez. She had a tent where she was selling her own photos. Her photo stand business is call Just Jenny’s love and she had photos from different U.S cities and countries from around the world. I ended up purchasing some of her amazing Jersey City photos and it was appropriate too since I was taking a lot of Jersey City photos at this point in time.

Jenny and I began talking and sharing out love for photography and different techniques. She ended up inspiring me to sell some of my photos as a way to show people my photography vision. The more times I’ve visited Jenny at the Sixth Borough Market, the closer we became and we have ended up becoming good friends.

Some fantastic photos I bought from Jenny at her photo stand, Just Jenny's Love © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Some fantastic photos I bought from Jenny at her photo stand, Just Jenny’s Love
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

One thought on “The Sixth Borough Market

  1. Pingback: ChicpeaHQ (CP5tudios): Jersey City’s Newest Studio | Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz

Leave a Reply

