FJB Comics and Games: Jersey City’s One and Only Comic Book Shop

FJB Comics and Games: Its Jersey City’s one and only comic book shop! It has been around for over seven years and it’s such a great place to go to for all your comic book and gaming needs.

Located on 17 Coles Street, FJB was originally located on York Street near the old Boys and Girls club building on Grand Street. I remember walking pass by it one winter afternoon in December of 2007. I had just went on winter break from college and decided to walk down York Street to get to Van Vorst Park for a stroll in the park.

When I saw FJB, I couldn’t believe my eyes. There was a comic book store in Jersey City! There hadn’t been one in Jersey City since I was seven-years-old when there was a comic book shop on Grove Street next to Lee’s Continental Fruit & Vegetable Store.

I saw the comic books first by looking through the glass door. I went inside and to my amazement they even sold video games! The owner, Floyd Bennett, came out from the back of his store and introduced himself. We have been great friends ever since.

A year later, while I was at college, an electric wire from a telephone pole struck FJB causing a large fire and burning the store, causing major damage. Floyd, months later, found a new home for FJB at 17 Coles Street and it’s been there ever since. The old York Street location has since been renovated and replaced by a knitting store call 2 Stix & a String. FJB is a great place to go to especially on a Wednesday when new comic book issues are released and many people stop by, discussing about every current topic with many funny arguments taking place.

Side shot of the entrance to Jersey City's one and only comic book store, FJB Comics and Games! © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Side shot of the entrance to Jersey City’s one and only comic book store, FJB Comics and Games!
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

It just so happen to be my birthday when I took the following FJB photos (specifically on May 27, 2014) and Floyd had invited me over to the shop to pick out any comic book in the shop for free as a gift. Before entering FJB, I took a side shot of the store (photo above), capturing all the amazing comic artwork done by a freelance artist and local Jersey City firefighter, Eli Ramos and his brothers.

Eli and his brothers are regular customers at FJB that help make the store pop out more with their artwork on the walls. I took the side shot because it was difficult to get one from across the street with the cars blocking the view of the entrance of FJB.

Vertical shot of the Batman mural painted by Eli Ramos and his brothers on the FJB Wall  © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Vertical shot of the Batman mural painted by Eli Ramos and his brothers on the FJB Wall
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I shot one more photo this time framing it vertically of the Batman tribute mural (photo above) featuring Batman and all of his Gotham foes surrounding him. My favorite part of this mural is the one with Poison Ivy, Catwoman and Harley Quinn put together to form the bat symbol. After my photo shoot of the store, I went inside FJB to pick out my free birthday comic book!

The free birthday comic book I ended up picking that day. You can't go wrong with The Simpsons! © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The free birthday comic book I ended up picking that day. You can’t go wrong with The Simpsons!
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

3 thoughts on “FJB Comics and Games: Jersey City’s One and Only Comic Book Shop

  1. Pingback: All About Downtown Street Fair In Jersey City Part I | Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz

  2. Pingback: Free Comic Book Day and Funko Pop! Nathan Drake: Photos of the Week (05/15/2016) | Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz

  3. Pingback: Photography Tour: Another Return to Jersey City | Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz

Leave a Reply

