Bob’s Corner: A Local Jersey City Legend

Growing up in Jersey City, there were a few spots where you would run into a food cart vendors and they were mostly spotted at the parks. The one cart vendor I had frequent the most was Bob the hot dog vendor on the corner of Newark Avenue and Barrow Street. As a kid either my mom or father would get me a hot dog and a can of soda any time we pass by Bob. For a $1.10, I get to enjoy a Sabrett hot dog and an orange soda in the summer.

Bob had been on that same exact corner even when my mother was growing up in Jersey City. He was even around well into my adulthood and every now and again I would get a hot dog and soda from him. I never had the chance to get to know Bob all that well because he was a quiet man, but he treated his customers very well and had a lot of close friends who would hang out with him while he was selling his hot dogs.

Sadly, Bob had passed away around July 2014 as another part of Jersey City that I grew up in was gone forever. My mom had broken the news to me that day and I was kind of sad. I felt like Bob was always going to be on that corner forever. I started to see photos of a memorial made for Bob by his closest friends on my Twitter feed and decided to down there to take a few photos of the memorial myself.

When I arrived at Barrow and Newark Avenue, I saw the memorial and was taken at awe by it. This man, who simply sold hot dogs everyday on this corner for over 40 years, touched so many hearts. Beautiful flowers everywhere with balloons and other trinkets displayed in Bob’s honor.

Wide Shot of Bob's Corner. the same exact spot where people in downtown Jersey City would get their hotdog fix for over 40 years. © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Wide Shot of Bob’s Corner. the same exact spot where people in downtown Jersey City would get their hot dog fix for over 40 years.
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

My first shot of the memorial was a wide shot to capture most of the memorial and to show where Bob once sold his hot dogs, bag of chips and beverages. (Photo on top)

Vertical shot showcasing the entirety of Bob's memorial  © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Vertical shot showcasing the entirety of Bob’s memorial
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I wanted the next shot to be a vertical shot so I can capture the entire memorial without having anything cut out of the frame and to show how much this man meant to a lot of people. (Photo on Top)

Close up of Bob's Corner memorial, showing Bob's image there one last time © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Close up of Bob’s Corner memorial, showing Bob’s image there one last time
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

For the last shot I went with a close up of my favorite part of the mural. I framed it just right to get the sign of “Uncle Bob’s Corner’ and the photo of Bob right next to the sign with the backdrop of this sunny July day.

Leave a Reply

