Short Photo Story: La Conguita

After 35 years, La Conguita, a well known Cuban Restaurant in downtown Jersey City, closed its doors this past week. Their last day was on Sunday, June 28th, 2015. I’m still shocked to know that it is now closed. I’m sad to see it go as another Hispanic restaurant closes for good in downtown Jersey City. It’s becoming a rarity down there now in that area. I shot this photo in the bottom back last summer when I was shooting my “My Jersey City Life” album.

After 35 years, La Conguita closes its doors for good in downtown Jersey City. This Cuban restaurant had been operational since 1980 and served the downtown community with the most delicious Cuban dishes © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

After 35 years, La Conguita closes its doors for good in downtown Jersey City. This Cuban restaurant had been operational since 1980 and served the downtown community with the most delicious Cuban dishes
© 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

La Conguita had some great Cuban food and I’m going to miss it. Wish I could had gone down there just to eat some of their food just one more last time. Their rice and chicken was to die for! It sucks when a store or restaurant you grew up around with goes away for good.

After 35 years, La Conguita closes its doors for good in downtown Jersey City. This Cuban restaurant had been operational since 1980 and served the downtown community with the most delicious Cuban dishes  © 2014 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

A mural I discovered back in May when I was in town next to La Conguita by their vintage Cuban movie posters
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Back in May, I was in Jersey City early in the morning before meeting with a friend to wrap up a web-series. I was in downtown and decided to take some sunrise and spring flower photos. I walked down Grove Street accidentally as I was planning on walking down Newark Ave. to Erie Street for some shots. I’m glad I made the mistake and passed by La Conguita to find this gorgeous mural (Photo Above). 

Asides from the design of the older Cuban man in the field and the blue sky as his shirt, I loved the colors of the mural and the way the sun was reflecting on it. The flowers on the bottom left side of the photo went really well with the mural too. For this shot, I had my ISO levels were set at 200 and my white balance was set to daylight.

I decreased the exposure composition a little bit so that so that the shadows would darken at the bottom right side of the frame. I went with a vertical shot to capture all of the mural and to get the blue morning sky to match the old man’s blue sky shirt. This was one of my favorite photos I took on that day. 

With La Conguita closed, I was worried about the mural being taken away and painted over by who ever took over the vacant spot. I had tweeted the mural photo this week and tagged La Conguita on it when I mentioned my worries about the mural. La Conguita tweeted me back with some great news about the mural staying up:

11709611_10206167322317999_5763897748238661206_n

              

One thought on “Short Photo Story: La Conguita

  1. That mural is amazing!

    I can’t quite relate to a staple restaurant closing – I’ve moved around so much that it doesn’t feel like I’ve had time to get used to too many places. Since we’ve just bought a house, here’s to hoping to establish some roots 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

