Colonial Lake of Lawrence Township

The summer weather so far this year hasn’t been too extremely hot. In fact, you could say it has been at a comfortable temperature. Usually, I like to go out in the late afternoons during the summer when it begins to cool down. That’s exactly what I did earlier this week as I wanted to enjoy the weather as I’ve been too cooped up inside during my working hours and at home.

I decided to head to Colonial Lake in Lawrenceville, NJ as it’s just an easy 15 minute walk from where I live. I wanted the relaxing summer atmosphere and the lake was the perfect place. I took my camera with me as usual as I haven’t been to Colonial Lake in over two months and I expected to encounter some new, potential shots. For this outing, I shot in program, had my white balance set to daylight and shade; ISO levels were set to 200.

A group of Geese swim freely on a sunny late summer afternoon  © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

A group of Geese swim freely on a sunny late summer afternoon
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I made my way to the entrance of the lake and looked to my left to where the lake was located. The trees surrounded the lake filled out very nicely with a bunch of leaves from the last time I was here. I took a few photos, but the one here (Photo Above) I really enjoyed.

There were a bunch of geese by the side of the lake swimming in a group so I quickly snapped this shot so I could get them before they swam away from the shot. I zoomed in so I could get the geese swimming on the bottom of the frame. The main goal of this shot was to not just to capture the geese of the left side of the frame, but to capture the trees in the background as well. I wanted to show just how large the lake is.

I walked further into the lake area by a walking path and found a rock to sit down on and look at the scenery. Normally during my photography outings I am walking almost non-stop. This time, however, I wanted to try something differently by just sitting down and staying at one spot and have the shots come to me. As I stared at the scenery of the lake and the smooth breeze bracing my face, for once in quite some time I was able to just chill and enjoy the outdoors and the great late afternoon summer weather.

The fences surrounding the lake and the scattered clouds adds a nice touch to this photo    © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The fences surrounding the lake and the scattered clouds adds a nice touch to this photo
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Eventually, I did started taking shots from the rock I was sitting on. On my right, I saw a great shot with a lone tree near by the fences which were a brand new addition to the lake (Photo Above). I went with a wide shot for many reasons such as getting the whole lake again and the trees in the background. The main reason, though, was to capture the scattered clouds on the sky. I had also decrease the exposure composition to make the shadows of the tree more dark and the blue sky more noticeable because of the clouds.

Not too long after I took the previous photo, on my left side from where I was sitting, a father and son came down to the lake with fishing poles ready to fish! They were sitting on a chair which looked like they took from their home which there is a bunch of surrounding the lake.

Earlier, I was thinking about sitting on that chair as I thought it was part of the lake. When I took a closer look at the chair, I could tell it belong to someone so I decided to move on to other sitting arrangements such as the rock I was sitting on now. It was a good thing that I did.

A father and son spend some bonding time with fishing by the lake  © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

A father and son spend some bonding time with fishing by the lake
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

So, there was the father and son spending some quality time by the lake with a traditional bonding experience of fishing. Of course I decided to capture the wonderful moment and I couldn’t let the opportunity pass by (Photo Above). I framed the father and son on the far left side so I could show how much of the lake they were fishing in. The green grass and trees truly makes this a classic summer photo as the father watches his son fish. The atmosphere of this photo really shines with the branches of a tree hanging over the fishing duo and the lake.

The lonely tree stands boldly by the lake © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The lonely tree stands boldly by the lake
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

After hanging around and sitting by the rock for a few more minutes, I decided to finally walk down the path around the lake. I can never stay in one place for too long because I just have to be on the move. Along the path way, I saw this piece of land sticking out from the road and on this land is this lone tree in the middle. As soon as I walked past by it, I had to take a shot of it (Photo Above). Right away I framed the tree in the middle of the photo as the main focus. I included the small hill in the bottom of the frame to show where exactly the tree stood. The lake and the trees on the background keep improving these photos.

The reflection of the lake makes it looks as though there are two photos in one © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The reflection of the lake makes it looks as though there are two photos in one
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I kept walking down the path way, admiring the background of the lake. This time I was just going to focus on that. For this shot (Photo Above) I zoomed in just close enough to frame the trees and get a good amount of sky on top of the frame. My main focus was to get the reflection of the trees via the lake itself, creating a type of mirrored image. It’s not that often that I get shots like this (except for puddles), but the position of the sunlight during this time of day really helped out. Also, it’s pretty cool looking at it upside down as if there are two photos in one.

A woman and her dog take a friendly walk through the pathway  © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

A woman and her dog take a friendly walk through the pathway
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I got to the part of the path where it was starting to go around the lake where there are several trees surrounding the path. A woman and her dog were walking past by me as I let them go in front of me as I set up my settings on my camera. Originally, I was going to take a shot of the path and trees, but then I saw the woman and her dog in the shot and I liked that so much better (Photo Above).

Quickly, I zoomed in, framed the path in the middle with the woman and her dog as the main focus of the photo. The trees make it feel as though they are about to enter a mystical forest. Yet again in this outing I captured a bond between two beings (in this case, human and animal).

It was about to be 7:30 P.M and time had just flew by for as something as simple as relaxing by the lake. That’s the summer hours for you. I walked by the bridge along the path way and just watched the lake flow by. I helped take my mind off everything really for a few minutes.

The bridges arcs beautifully over the lake © 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

The bridges arcs beautifully over the lake
© 2015 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

I started walking back home, but before I did, I decided to take a shot of the bridge (Photo Above). First off, I framed just the right side of the bridge so I could get more of the trees in the shot. Also, I wanted to show how the bridge arches. I also wanted to put the flow of the lake to the bridge which you can see in the middle of the shot.

Feeling satisfied with all the shots I took for the day, I decided to head back home, but at the same time I wanted so badly to stay by the lake a little longer. If it wasn’t for the Home Run Derby about to begin, I would have stayed until the lake closed.

Leave a Reply

