A Short Photography Tour: Princeton University

In mid-June, I decided to go back and visit Princeton on one of my days off from work to take more photos of this New Jersey college town. I enjoyed my trip there last time and wanted to take photos of anything I miss from my previous trip. This time around I focused more on taking photos of the Princeton University campus since I was mostly taking photos of the town itself.

I wanted to capture some amazing shots of one of the most well known Ivy League schools in the country and I figure why not since it’s only 15 minutes away from where I live. Plus, it was a gorgeous sunny day out with summer about to begin. I want to give a special thanks to my friend Patrick Smith who’s familiar with the Princeton area as he gave me a quick tour of the campus which helped me get some fantastic shots during my visit.

PRINCE71

In front of Robertson Hall were these sculptures of animal heads on sticks. I was confused, yet amused by this art work only to learn later on that these animal heads represented the Chinese zodiac © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

PRINCE74

While my friend Pat was giving me a quick tour of the campus we came across the stunning Prospect gardens. Pat pointed out a potential shot of the two bushes on both side of the frames with the fountain in the middle. Wasting no time, I took the shot with no one blocking it and as a result captured a stunning image with the Prospect House in the background. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

PRINCE102

In one of the entrances to the campus from Nassau Street, I captured this wonderful wide shot capturing some of the essence of Princeton University’s European influenced architecture. What really drew me to this shot was how wonderful the bikes were parked next to the bed of flowers. It really had this strong image of summer for me © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

PRINCE120

In what looks like something out of a Harry Potter movie, I took a wide shot of the Blair Hall building. With its castle like structure, I immediately fell in love with it and the clock embedded in it definitely helped out © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

PRINCE134

I found more European architectural influence while stumbling around the empty campus area. Since it was June, many undergrads have left for the summer break so it was easier to walk around and get shots like these with out anyone in them. I once again went with a wide shot a captured this empty court © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Make sure to visit my social media sites to stay up to date on new photo posts and when new Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz Articles are posted:

Facebook.com/angelstudiosphoto

Twitter: @angelstudiosPV

Instagram: @angelstudiosphoto

angelstudiosphoto.tumblr.com

website: http://ivesojc.wix.com/angelstudiosphoto

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

