Short Photography Tour: The Delaware and Raritan (D & R) Canal Trail

Last summer (in 2015) I had discovered a trail known as The Delaware and Raritan (D & R) Canal Trail  while taking photos of my new town of Lawrenceville. I had only briefly walked a few feet of the trail and took a few photos before heading back home. I promised myself that summer that I would return to the trail and discover more of it.

That didn’t happen at all as I ended up side track with other photography projects. Fast forward to this summer (in 2016), I made it a goal to return to the D&R Trail as one of my many photography destinations for this summer. In late June, I made my return to the D&R Trail and discovered more things about it than I had anticipated.

DR9

The D&R Canal Trail has some very interesting graffiti art that takes me back from when I was living in Jersey City. It’s really a perfect spot to practice your graffiti skills right under the bridge since the trail can be very secluded and empty at times. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DR25

They do not call the D&R Canal a trail for nothing! This trail goes on for a long time. I walked this one part of the trail for a good 20 minutes with the same scenery. I decided to turn back but not before getting this wide shot of the greenery of the trail. I love how the canal on the left stretches just as long as the trail in the right. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DR32

Surprisingly, I saw a few fishermen on the trail trying to capture some fish. It’s a good way to release some stress with the leisure of fishing just like I was doing while walking and taking photos on the trail. I just hope the fisherman just caught and release the fisher rather than take it home and eat it because the canal water did not look clean. With this shot, I made sure the fisherman didn’t see me as I didn’t want to disturb him. I wanted to capture him at peace with the gorgeous natural background © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DR31

On the other side of the trail that wasn’t an endless road of greenery, I found even more graffiti. This time, however, the graffiti art has some type of form to it as it included a lion and a cat. There’s even some graffiti spray painted on an actual rock to the left of it. It was great seeing this art work in this setting as it feels like a combination of an urban and a natural environment. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DR48

The trail kept showing me more surprises as I stumbled upon an industrial factory. You can’t get anymore New Jersey than this. I went with a wide shot to include the trail on the left and show how close this factory is to it. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DR54

I took a few more shots of the industrial factory including this black and white one. It had been a while since I took a black and white photo as I decreased the exposition compensation to make the factory look more sinister. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Make sure to visit my social media sites to stay up to date on new photo posts and when new Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz Articles are posted:

Facebook.com/angelstudiosphoto

Twitter: @angelstudiosPV

Instagram: @angelstudiosphoto

angelstudiosphoto.tumblr.com

website: http://ivesojc.wix.com/angelstudiosphoto

 

 

Leave a Reply

