Photography Tour: Another Return to Jersey City

Every now and then I make a return trip to my hometown of Jersey City either to see family and friends or travel for an event. I have posted plenty of Jersey City stories on this photoblog including more recently about my trip to FJB Comics for Free Comic Book Day.  In mid-July, I came back to Jersey City for a personal matter, but soon afterward spent the entire day just walking around in my hometown (mostly by the waterfront) on a very hot summer day! I, of course, had my camera as I had planned on taking some photos of familiar and new areas. I mostly used my long range lens to take photos on this outing as it was my first time taking photos with it in Jersey City.

DTJC1

It was a while since I paid a visit to my favorite Jersey City landmark, the Colgate Clock. With some space available to walk in front of the clock now thanks to some renovations, I was able to get this perfect shot with my regular lens. The clouds passing by in the background were perfect as it lined up right behind the Colgate Clock. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DTJC12

While walking up along Coles Street near the intersection of Sixth Street, I came across this abandoned and broken down piano thrown away near an alley. It’s not everyday you see a piano thrown away near the curb with its parts out in the open. After taken several photos of the wasted instrument, I settled to showcase this soft high key version as it was the best one. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DTJC22

It had been nearly two years since I last took photos at the Newport marina, but luckily I made my return because there was a fleet of military helicopters that had flew by over the Hudson River. With my long range lens, I was just able to capture this military helicopter that was trailing behind. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DTJC32

Still walking along the Newport marina, a bicyclist pass by me as he was trying to capture a breeze on a hot, muggy summer day. He was far ahead of me, but with the long lens I was able to zoom in easily and not only capture the bicyclist on the board walk but also capture a mother with her baby in a stroller and a random guy in a white shirt. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DTJC40

After walking along the Newport marina, I arrived back onto Exchange Place and took some photos at J. Owen Grundy Pier. One of the photos I took was this woman who looked like she was taking a breather after spending the entire day in an Exchange Place office and reflecting on her day. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

DTJC46

It was nearing the end of the day in Jersey City for me as I decided to just sit down and enjoy the breeze while seeing all the people passing by during rush hour as everyone was getting out of work. I shot a few photos of people getting out of work including this one. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Make sure to visit my social media sites to stay up to date on new photo posts and when new Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz Articles are posted:

Facebook.com/angelstudiosphoto

Twitter: @angelstudiosPV

Instagram: @angelstudiosphoto

angelstudiosphoto.tumblr.com

website: http://ivesojc.wix.com/angelstudiosphoto

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

