A Baseball Day Trip to Citizens Bank Park

On July 17, my Mets family and I took a trip down to Philadelphia and into enemy territory to meet the New York Mets take on the Philadelphia Phillies at Citizens Bank Park. I went to Citizens Bank Park for the first time last year and it’s a very nice and small ballpark to walk around and take photos of.

I didn’t roam around the ballpark too much this time around, but I was able to get plenty of close up photos of the players (mostly Mets players) during practice right before the game started. There are also some photos during the game as well as it was a fantastic Sunday afternoon of baseball.

CBP166

Walking towards the ballpark from the parking lot, I had pass by a few other Mets fans, including one who had this flag flying above their car. I zoomed in on the flag so that it matched perfectly with the Phillies ballpark just to show off an invasion. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP176

Inside Citizens Bank Park, I was admiring some of the large clouds passing by on a very hot day. One set of clouds in particular caught my attention as it was above the top of the Phillies scoreboard. Zooming in, I framed it just right in which the “Phillies” sign was inside the photo with the clouds aligned in the middle above the lights. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP185

New York Mets starting pitcher Noah Syndergaard stepped out of the dugout during warm-ups before the game. Using the long lens made it so much easier to take photos of the players especially since I was standing by the third base line. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP203

Noah Syndergaard and his teammate, starter Steven Matz, hit the field together for warm-ups. As they were walking back towards the third base line after jogging, I was able to capture them together in a close frame looking tough before they ran out to the outfield again. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP218

Noah Syndergaard is in the center of attention again as his teammates come back out from the dugout this time wearing their gameday road uniforms. Pictured in this is photo also includes Steven Matz, Travis d’Arnaud and Logan Verrett © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP234

The iconic Phillies mascot, the Phillie Phanatic, zips by the third base line on his ATV before the game. I was still surprise that I was able to get this shot off because I thought I miss timed it since the Phanatic was speeding by © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP259

Sitting from my seat behind center right field, I was able to get this shot of Mets short stop, Jose Reyes, during the game. I was very happy and ecstatic that my long range lens were able to capture the players clearly on the field. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP279

Near where my seats were and in the area behind the bullpens, I walked to one of the concession stands and quickly captured the many Phillies and Mets fans walking pass by. I also wanted to capture the brick structure and the clock attached to it. © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

CBP311

The New York Mets ended up winning the game, defeating the Philadelphia Phillies 5-0 behind a complete game shut out one-hitter by starter Jacob deGrom. It was deGrom’s first complete game shutout of his career. I zoomed in really quick to capture Mets players congratulating deGrom. I took a few of these congratulating photos, but I ended up using this one since it was the best one framed and I like how I captured outfielder Yoenis Cespedes high-fiving deGrom © 2016 Angel Ortiz Jr. Photography

Make sure to visit my social media sites to stay up to date on new photo posts and when new Photography Journal of Angel Ortiz Articles are posted:

Facebook.com/angelstudiosphoto

Twitter: @angelstudiosPV

Instagram: @angelstudiosphoto

angelstudiosphoto.tumblr.com

website: http://ivesojc.wix.com/angelstudiosphoto

 

Leave a Reply

